Fab Five Friday

Fab Five Friday | Eyes

In case it wasn’t painfully obvious, I am not a beauty guru. The spirit is willing, but as a long sighted glasses wearer, I find it difficult to execute the pretty looks you see on YouTube and Instagram.

So with that in mind, what are my Fab Five eye makeup picks?

1. Bourjois Smoky Stories Eyeshadow – Good Nude

This is my go-to eyeshadow palette for day to evening as the three eyeshadow shades build from a simple day look to a sexy smoky look for evening, and the silver glitter adds the perfect evening detail. I tend to take this palette away on holiday, as the darkest shade works as a nice eyeliner on it’s own.

2. No7 Stay Perfect Shade and Define – Cool Mink

I bought this on a whim at the airport on our recent holiday, and I just love this cream eyeshadow stick. The colour is the perfect shade of taupe with cool blue undertones which on me is a ‘your eyes but better’ or a ‘no-makeup’ look. It adds definition without being too obvious, which is great for me as a simple to use product.

3. No7 Stay Perfect Mascara

After a lot of trial and error with runny eyes and smudgy mascara, I saw Zabrena’s video on gym-proof mascaras and realised that tubing mascaras were the way forward. The No7 Stay Perfect mascara can’t be built in the ‘normal’ way, so this is for more of a natural look, but I love that it can be taken off with some warm water – no eye make up remover needed!

4. ELF Cosmetics Eyebrow Lifter & Filler – Ivory/Light

I have pretty sparse brows, so a brow pencil needs to be a) a good product and b) actually match my ash blonde eyebrows. This pencil does the trick, and stays on until almost the end of the day (at which point it doesn’t matter anyway!) I hope this product isn’t discontinued, as I haven’t yet found a pencil which matches my brows better.

5. Essence Long Lasting Eye Pencil 

I needed a navy eyeliner for the show I did recently, and didn’t want to spend a lot of money. Enter the Essence Long Lasting Eye Pencil for £1.50 from Wilkos. This worked a dream, and reminded me of the Urban Decay 24 Hour Eye Liner in its performance. I liked it so much I went back and bought it in Black Fever, Lucky Lead and Snow Queen. At such a cheap price, it’s also a good buy if you want to try something different from one of the many colours in the range.

 

What are your Fab Five eye makeup products? Can you recommend any I might like to try?

Sig

Leave a comment